Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Questions & Answers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 05, 2012, 08:29 PM // 20:29   #1
Kate
Ascalonian Squire
 
Kate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Guild: WISE
Profession: E/Me
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default Still keep GW client?

I am installing GW2 and I have just linked my GW account no problem.

My question is weather I need both client?

I have one account with GW2 as well as the original GW's and expansions and I have another that has no GW2 but all the expansions of the first.

As in, can I play GW2 chars using my GW client? As both clients take up quite a lot of space.

Thanks.
Kate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 09:28 PM // 21:28   #2
cosyfiep
are we there yet?
 
cosyfiep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in a land far far away
Guild: guild? I am supposed to have a guild?
Profession: Rt/
Default

as guildwars and guildwars2 are 2 different games you will need to have both exe files to play...you will not be able to log into gw1 with a gw2 client (or vise versa).

so yes, you will need to keep both
__________________
where is the 'all you can eat' cookie bar?
cosyfiep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 08:01 PM // 20:01   #3
Frangeo Munda
Academy Page
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Granitic crust
Guild: Killer Green Buddah
Profession: Mo/
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
I am installing GW2 and I have just linked my GW account no problem.

My question is weather I need both client?

I have one account with GW2 as well as the original GW's and expansions and I have another that has no GW2 but all the expansions of the first.

As in, can I play GW2 chars using my GW client? As both clients take up quite a lot of space.

Thanks.
You do not need both clients to play one particular game. However, you need the gw1 client to play gw1, and the gw2 client to play gw2. The two games (gw1 & gw2) are completely different games, as I'm sure you've kinda noticed if you've played them at all. You cannot play gw2 using gw1, and vice-versa.
Yeh, they do take up a lot of space (gw.dat is like 4GB last I checked, and gw2.dat is like 15GB), but unfortunately there's no way around that. The .dat files store all the sound effects, textures, models, etc. from the games so that the game doesn't have to rely on the servers for that kinda basic game information.
If you have a portable hard drive, or an iPod with some free space, you might be able to offload the gw.dat file onto the ipod until you need it again. Unfortunately, I don't think this will work for gw2.dat, as the iPod seems to only accept files 4GB and smaller.
Frangeo Munda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 PM // 13:45.


Vote on the Guild Wars Top 200
Guild Wars Top 200 - Cheats Free Guides, Downloads, Fansites. The Gold standard

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.