Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Technician's Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2008, 11:55 PM // 23:55   #1
voltz_Maker
Frost Gate Guardian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Guild: Lost
Profession: E/
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default Sound problem

Thanks, I downloaded the newest driver and the problem is resolved.

Snograt- Damn... I was about to reeinstall GW but In the last minute, I was thinking that there must be a mistake from your part. Well, I'm glad my thread learned you something

Last edited by voltz_Maker; Jul 15, 2008 at 02:24 PM // 14:24..
voltz_Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 12:27 AM // 00:27   #2
Snograt
rattus rattus
 
Snograt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK GMT±0 ±1hr DST
Guild: [GURU]GW [wiki]GW2
Profession: R/
Default

Missing sounds (or textures/animations, etc.) would suggest a corrupt .dat rather than a problem with the sound hardware.

Delete your gw.dat, load the one from the most recent installation disk you have (EotN in your case), then run GW with the -image switch. If the problem persists, let us know.
Snograt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 01:39 AM // 01:39   #3
xeuroli
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Profession: Mo/
Default

Don't delete anything there is an update for realtek HD audio. I had the same problem you are having and as soon as the update was downloaded and installed no more problems with sound. Here is a link for you just download the audiocodec for your sound card then remove the old one first. Look under device manager and just right click on the device and deinstall it.

http://www.realtek.com/downloads/dow...&GetDown=false

Last edited by xeuroli; Jul 15, 2008 at 01:47 AM // 01:47..
xeuroli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 02:03 AM // 02:03   #4
Snograt
rattus rattus
 
Snograt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK GMT±0 ±1hr DST
Guild: [GURU]GW [wiki]GW2
Profession: R/
Default

Hmm, I know Realtek audio drivers can be flaky, but I can't see how it would fail to render particular sounds only :/

Be interested in your feedback on this, Voltz - I live to learn ^^
Snograt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 02:36 AM // 02:36   #5
xeuroli
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Profession: Mo/
Default

Hi, well from my experience with it, I purchased a new computer with a realtek sound driver that was not updated since 2007 and have been using it for about 3 months now. It was in June of 2008 when the new sound driver update was available so I guess Realtek was a bit slow . Most of these type drivers are being used under vista now and a lot of problems with sound hardware are known to come up under this OS and not just sound but other hardware issues as well.
xeuroli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 03:03 AM // 03:03   #6
Snograt
rattus rattus
 
Snograt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK GMT±0 ±1hr DST
Guild: [GURU]GW [wiki]GW2
Profession: R/
Default

Don't blame Vista - manufacturers like Realtek had plenty of time to come up with Vista drivers. Look at Creative - their drivers are so bad I recently removed the X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS from my system and am now using the (very acceptable) HD audio on my eVGA 780i.

Not that I use it much - PC in bedroom and wife complains about the sound of dying monsters

[edit] - shoot me - nobody even mentioned Vista ><
Snograt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 08:50 PM // 20:50   #7
xeuroli
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Profession: Mo/
Default

glad I could help Voltz.
xeuroli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2008, 09:24 PM // 21:24   #8
Snograt
rattus rattus
 
Snograt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK GMT±0 ±1hr DST
Guild: [GURU]GW [wiki]GW2
Profession: R/
Default

Heh, was no need to edit your original post, Voltz - this ain't Ventari's you know!

Glad you got it sorted and glad you didn't need to re-install your .dat. HOWEVER - it's a good idea to do that occasionally anyway - .dats get corrupted and bloated over time. If your gw.dat is much over 3.5GB, it's bloated.
Snograt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A sound problem, video problem, and couple questions Kaolla Technician's Corner 5 May 25, 2007 12:17 PM // 12:17
Sound Problem johnnychimpo552 Technician's Corner 3 Sep 30, 2006 03:01 PM // 15:01
The Sound Problem X-Bomb The Riverside Inn 196 Mar 26, 2006 01:39 PM // 13:39
GW Sound Problem welsper Technician's Corner 2 Oct 28, 2005 02:40 PM // 14:40
Problem with sound effects stake Technician's Corner 1 Oct 14, 2005 02:37 PM // 14:37


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 PM // 21:06.


Vote on the Guild Wars Top 200
Guild Wars Top 200 - Cheats Free Guides, Downloads, Fansites. The Gold standard

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.