Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Technician's Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2010, 06:22 AM // 06:22   #1
ajsnuker
Academy Page
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Guild: Dunkoro Is Our [MVP]
Profession: W/
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default Internet speed for pvp

Is this and adequate enough speed for high end pvp in guild wars 1 and the soon to come guild wars 2?

ajsnuker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 06:56 AM // 06:56   #2
Shadow Sin
Jungle Guide
 
Shadow Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philippines
Guild: [Glad]
Profession: Mo/
Default

tbh you can run on 400 ping on high end GW 1 PvP and still be ranked among the top 100
Shadow Sin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 07:44 AM // 07:44   #3
Gladiator Motoko
Desert Nomad
 
Gladiator Motoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Guild: Zero Quality [zQ] /[LaG]/[USA]
Profession: A/E
Default

Shadow is correct.

It often depends on what you plan on playing.

As far as interuption goes, that may be your ping... But that ping will vary depending on what servers you play on (Euro/American).

I have absolutely no problem getting 3/4s most of the time with a mesmer on American servers.

On euro servers its a bit harder for me being an American player.

I would test GW servers over your plain internet connection.
Gladiator Motoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 09:26 AM // 09:26   #4
Archress Shayleigh
Wilds Pathfinder
 
Archress Shayleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guild Hall
Profession: R/
Default

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1049606225.png

How come I have a higher ping then?
Archress Shayleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 10:27 AM // 10:27   #5
Yue
The Cheese Stands Alone
 
Yue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: A Chair
Guild: Delta Formation [DF]
Profession: R/
Default

Your available bandwidth is different from your ping. Bandwidth=width of a highway, ping tells you if that highway's made from stone or mud.

However, test your ping on GW servers, not speedtest.

Anything less than 150ms will let you play interrupt classes, anything less than 350 will let you play everything else fine.
Yue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 11:21 AM // 11:21   #6
Archress Shayleigh
Wilds Pathfinder
 
Archress Shayleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guild Hall
Profession: R/
Default

By "test your ping on GW servers" you mean to simply go into the game and look at the ping, or is there another website for that?
Archress Shayleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 01:31 PM // 13:31   #7
lodgeinator
Academy Page
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
By "test your ping on GW servers" you mean to simply go into the game and look at the ping, or is there another website for that?
Yep just go ingame and have a look, it will be the most accurate way.
lodgeinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 03:12 PM // 15:12   #8
Fusylum
Lion's Arch Merchant
 
Fusylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Guild: Reign of Judgement [RoJ]
Default




School Connection...
Don't Cry
Fusylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 04:21 PM // 16:21   #9
Archress Shayleigh
Wilds Pathfinder
 
Archress Shayleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guild Hall
Profession: R/
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fusylum View Post



school connection...
Don't cry
wtfffffffffffffffff
Archress Shayleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 05:37 PM // 17:37   #10
Snograt
rattus rattus
 
Snograt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK GMT±0 ±1hr DST
Guild: [GURU]GW [wiki]GW2
Profession: R/
Default

Yes, yes - very nice, but we're not going to have another thread full of "my internets > your internets", thank you

Besides, can you play GW on it?
Snograt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 06:07 PM // 18:07   #11
dansamy
Chasing Dragons
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lost in La-La Land
Guild: LFGuild
Profession: Mo/Me
Default

It's also hard to infuse on lousy ping.
dansamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 08:39 PM // 20:39   #12
Fusylum
Lion's Arch Merchant
 
Fusylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Guild: Reign of Judgement [RoJ]
Default

I can play the game on this...



Don't make fun of me!
Fusylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 02:22 AM // 02:22   #13
I Echo Dshot
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area
Guild: WTB q7 insc ar15 sheilds
Profession: R/Me
Default

Speedtest.net doesn't give an accurate assessment of your GUILD WARS PING. (unless your on dial up, satalite, wifi, phone modem)

Your Guild Wars ping is not based on your internet connection, but your distance from Dallas, Texas. All the American servers are based there.

As for your ping and high level PvP, If your ping isn't sub 150, don't play ranger or a non-esurge mesmer in top GvG. It really depends on your reaction speed too, generally as a ranger you should be able to reflex 1 sec cast from a fair distance almost 100% of the time, on a mesmer you should be able to pleak 3/4 second cast with decent consistency. For a warrior, you should be able to Qstep (around 300ish ping?). For a monk you should have decent ping (around 300). If your ping is above 500 (aka you're in Australia), PvPing anything but mindless midline might be difficult.
I Echo Dshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 08:53 AM // 08:53   #14
Artisan Archer
Wilds Pathfinder
 
Artisan Archer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Guild: Free Wind
Profession: R/
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusylum View Post



School Connection...
Don't Cry



Home connection. Glasfiber.


Still, I never get a 3ms ping in guild wars specially in matches it's around 50-150ms

Last edited by Artisan Archer; Nov 30, 2010 at 08:56 AM // 08:56..
Artisan Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 01:28 PM // 13:28   #15
yitjuan
Lion's Arch Merchant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: GMT +8
Guild: redt
Profession: Rt/
Default

what does bandwidth have to do with ping? Do you even know what is what and what is not what?

Here's an example.

Flight from New York to Los Angeles. Will the travel time magically halve if they double the number of flights????
yitjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2011, 07:30 AM // 07:30   #16
placetoguru
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Guild: [GooN]
Profession: W/
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I Echo Dshot View Post
.........If your ping is above 500 (aka you're in Australia), PvPing anything but mindless midline might be difficult.
LOL u really think that echo???? i'm sure me and a few other aussies have proven u wrong on many occasions. although i will accept the fact that playin mes is just impossible. but still, to everyone else as long as your ping is below 600 your golden for all but prot, ranger and mez. and for all u americans who qq when your ping hits 200. why dont u come down under were the real pros are and watch us rape in GVG with 500+pings. also q-stepping and relic running is totally fine with a 600 or less ping.
placetoguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 07:19 PM // 19:19   #17
nacho3232
Ascalonian Squire
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artisan Archer View Post



Home connection. Glasfiber.


Still, I never get a 3ms ping in guild wars specially in matches it's around 50-150ms
you should be our new server for USA, I get horrible ping out of the severs out of Texas
nacho3232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2011, 05:01 PM // 17:01   #18
Nalia
Academy Page
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Guild: Psychic Distraction [PD]
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haifa View Post
My internet speed is
Download speed is 1.90 kbps
Upload speed is 0.80 kbps...
I check the speed here http://www.ip-details.com/
1.9kb/s ?

m8 you know an old school dialup modem is 56k at least, isdn is 128k, i think youre either typing it wrong or you really need to fix something... 14.4k modems came out in like late 80's iirc, if that download is accurate youre behind on technology by about 25 years
Nalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2011, 05:35 PM // 17:35   #19
aelesia
Frost Gate Guardian
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Games usually don't require much bandwith actually. 1mb/s (DL) + 0.1mb/s (UL) is usually enough bandwith for most games. The real problem is latency.

I don't know why but my ping to Guild Wars servers is utter crap. My ping to most California based game servers (not ArenaNet) is usually about 200 - 250ms. On the other hand my ping to Guild War servers is usually about 350 - 500ms. On days where there are lots of people online such as Wintersday, my ping will average about 1000 - 2000ms.

I really hope ArenaNet will address these issues for GW2.
aelesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 AM // 06:36.


Vote on the Guild Wars Top 200
Guild Wars Top 200 - Cheats Free Guides, Downloads, Fansites. The Gold standard

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.