Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru
 
 

Go Back   Guild Wars Forums - GW Guru > Forest of True Sight > Technician's Corner > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2012, 08:38 PM // 20:38   #1
rusticgamer
Frost Gate Guardian
 
rusticgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: With Courage and Muriel
Guild: Guild Nirvana [GN]
Profession: A/
Advertisement

Disable Ads
Default Blocked PC from GW

Hello,

I'm not sure if here is where I should have posted this but here I go. Recently I started having problems with GW. The game works perfectly, superb, but after I click on the Xunlai Agent and Salvage/Ident something the game gets blocked and my PC get's blocked. Nothing to do but to forcefully interrupt the power. If I restart it, it will start logging off, but won't shut down. The screen get's black and there is nothing to do but unplug it. I tried waiting for 30 mins and still nothing. I run Windows 7 with 64 bit.
Can anyone help me with my problem? It would do me a world of good. Also I tried reinstalling it and nothing. Sometimes I can get it to close. but it still remains in process. And when I start the launcher again it tells me there is a problem in the GW .dat and it can't extract info from it.

Thank you in advance for any feedback I might get.

Last edited by rusticgamer; Apr 29, 2012 at 10:16 PM // 22:16..
rusticgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 10:08 AM // 10:08   #2
Coast
Furnace Stoker
 
Coast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Belgium
Guild: Whats Going On [sup]
Profession: Mo/
Default

put a fresh gw.dat on your pc (so remove guild wars completely first) before doing so
Coast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 10:17 AM // 10:17   #3
rusticgamer
Frost Gate Guardian
 
rusticgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: With Courage and Muriel
Guild: Guild Nirvana [GN]
Profession: A/
Default

already did it twice, didn't work
rusticgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 10:51 AM // 10:51   #4
Coast
Furnace Stoker
 
Coast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Belgium
Guild: Whats Going On [sup]
Profession: Mo/
Default

firewall maybe?...
Coast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:45 AM // 11:45   #5
malevolence
Krytan Explorer
 
malevolence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

1-If you cannot force your PC to shutdown, you can hold the power button for 10 sec and it will force your PC to shutdown. (no need to unplug)
2-Unistall the game, delete old remaining gw folders. Install the client from www.guildwars.com. After installing run gw.exe with the -image command example: "C:\xxxxxxx\GUILD WARS\Gw.exe" -image.
3-If that didn't solve the issue, then check that gw have permission in the windows firewall and that you are running gw as administrator.
4-Run a ScanDisk to check if your HDD has bad sectors/errors and let windows fix it.
5-If still no working, download a program called CCleaner, install it and run it. Fix all the issues you can (don't forget the windows registry scan). You can download the program here: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner

If you didn't manage to solve the issue, then I have this questions:

-Do you have issues in other games as well?
-Drivers? Make sure you have latests drivers installed for the video card.
-Running windows 7 ? GW does not officially support windows 7, so issues may occur, but as I use windows 7 and never had issues with GW, it is very strange but is a possibility.
-Support from ANET? Please open a support case with GW support if you didn't already. Or post your issue in this forum: https://forum.guildwars.com/forum

Information about the steps mentioned above:

1: just FYI.
2 and 3: Basic troubleshooting.
4: Your PC blocking when playing etc is not normal, normally it can be 2 issues, corrupt data (thats why I mention to run a scandisk) or Hardware issues.
5: CCleaner is a great software that fix issues with files, temporary files/folders and windows registry that may cause data corruption. It is adviced to run this software once a month to clear issues in the system.

Last edited by malevolence; Mar 11, 2012 at 11:59 AM // 11:59..
malevolence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 02:06 PM // 14:06   #6
rusticgamer
Frost Gate Guardian
 
rusticgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: With Courage and Muriel
Guild: Guild Nirvana [GN]
Profession: A/
Default

Thank you, I reinstalled it according to your advice and I allowed it as an exception in the firewall. It solved my problem. Thank you again
rusticgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 10:15 PM // 22:15   #7
rusticgamer
Frost Gate Guardian
 
rusticgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: With Courage and Muriel
Guild: Guild Nirvana [GN]
Profession: A/
Default

Okay my problem came back after a while.

Atm after some times of playing my image just freezes and my computer blocks. Now if I wait a considerable amount of time I can eventually enter in task manager (thou gw will still be unresponding). If I close it my computer reverts to normal. But if I try to open gw again it will say that gw.dat cannot be used.

I am using Windows 7 on 64 bytes. My computer is far above the requirments so that is not the problem. Also I reinstalled gw, it didn't work. I have even gone as far as reinstalling my windows with all my drivers and formating my laptop.

I got the exact same error in gw2. It only happens while I am playing gw....I didn't have this issue on other games.

If anybody has a solution or anything it will be much appreciated...it's kind of getting annoying lately. Thank you in advance for your feedback.

P.S. : I am using a Dell XPS

Last edited by rusticgamer; Apr 29, 2012 at 10:31 PM // 22:31..
rusticgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 10:38 PM // 22:38   #8
Ayuhmii Shanbwa
Jungle Guide
 
Ayuhmii Shanbwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Holland
Guild: [GaMe]
Profession: Rt/
Default

i get problems with a few games if i dont put em on exception lists of the windows firewall and AVG (virusscanner)
then there's something harder to do

from another forum (plz read well, its kinda advanced)

1) Click My Computer
2) Right click the white space in My Computer and click Properties
3) Click Advanced System Settings
4) Look under the Advanced Tab
5) Click Settings under the field named Performance
6) Click the Tab labeled Data Execution Prevention
7) Select the Radio Button labeled "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select:"
8) Click "Add..." and add the exe files of GW and GW2
9) Restart your computer

if you feel like you shouldnt, dont, as i dont know that much about it
but this is for another game, which had a problem starting its launcher for some people, and this worked for me

if anyone knows more about this, and does NOT recommend this, plz say it, as i dont wanna be the cause of something bad (if it really is as bad as it sounds o_O)

also, dont do it with all your programs, it MAY be bad to other stuff than games, i dunno, sry

so...i'd say: first try what others tell you, that may be safer o_O

oh yea, 1 more thing, my GW never needed that, but it did load easier and faster when putting it on those 2 exception lists

Last edited by Ayuhmii Shanbwa; Apr 29, 2012 at 10:46 PM // 22:46..
Ayuhmii Shanbwa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share This Forum!  
 
 
           

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 AM // 00:23.


Vote on the Guild Wars Top 200
Guild Wars Top 200 - Cheats Free Guides, Downloads, Fansites. The Gold standard

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.